One thought on “以下是新闻稿的几页。Below are a few press release pages.

  1. Do I speak Mandarin? The answer is no, in fact, I am very bad at it. So, a Chinese native comes up to me and says, “你今天吃了吗” I would say, “yes, as a matter of fact, I had rice and vegetables. Chinese person says, “你的会议怎么样吗” I would say, “The meeting went well. Thanks for asking.” Do you understand my point? Just because I’m not a fluent speaker of the Chinese language doesn’t mean I don’t understand every word that’s coming out of a Chinese native’s mouth. Let me give you another example, a buddy asks me to look at a document written in Chinese. I looked at it and replied, “It says you have a meeting tomorrow with Big Black Mountain.” Now, in Chinese, “Big Black Mountain” can either be the name of a person or the name of a street. That will depend entirely on the context of the sentence. Some foreigner in China can speak Chinese and sound like the natives. But show them the word “book” written in the Chinese language they haven’t the faintest idea. Most of my associates in Hong Kong can speak English, I believe people tend to forget that Hong Kong was once ceded under the UK since 1898 and its citizens can speak English. As I was saying, my mainland friends, I often insist they speak their native tongue which is Mandarin, and I speak mine and we are able to communicate. There aren’t any language barriers or shortcomings or lack thereof in expressing one’s self because the parties are comfortable speaking their native language. This I believe is a balance. No one is conceding and I believe, if I took the time to learn your language you should have taken the time to learn mine.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.